And we have our first tooth!

Standard

That’s the big news, and you can sneak your own peek in this photo:

And yes, I survived the week without Francisco.

It’s worth noting that Mariel did not nap AT ALL while he was away, which he doesn’t exactly believe because she’s been a two nap a day gal since he’s returned. Ay, ay, ay.

It’s been pointed out to me by doting family members (doting on Mariel, not me) that I’ve been lax with this blog. If the blog was a child, they’d have called protective services.

I know this, but strangely, I haven’t been sure what to write. I could simply post (admittedly adorable) photos, but you can find those on Flickr. And I could recount story after story about the kind words people have about Mariel, but I’d be taking advantage of your patience. What’s really important, I’m not sure I have words for just yet. What it’s like to watch someone grow and develop character traits like this:

What it’s like to watch her explore and experience her world for the first time, and through that, to experience a completely different type of love, or to notice changes in yourself and your worldview.

Right now, all the feelings I have are just that- felt- and haven’t made their way into words yet. They will, I know. Eventually.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

