The Pending Retirement of the Blue Jeans

Standard

My favorite cold weather outfit–anytime, anywhere–is a pair of blue jeans and a long-sleeved pullover, preferably of longjohn material. Warm weather? A variation on the ultra-casual theme:  shorts, a tank top, and a pair of flip flops.

I’ve always valued comfort over style, and only rarely achieved a workable combination of the two. Fortunately, Francisco didn’t marry me for my fashion sense.

I always knew this day would come–the day when I’d have to accept the pending retirement of my favorite pair of blue jeans, stained with drops of white paint on the right leg and fraying. My mom, thoughtful as ever, even took care of the prep work, doing some shopping for me since clothes shopping is quite possibly my version of hell on earth. But man, it feels sad, taking off these jeans tonight and knowing they’ll soon be stuck in a drawer, lonely, for months on end. We haven’t spent much time apart–only when Francisco forces me to take off the science experiment and send them to the laundry.

My faithful jeans, I’ll miss you.

2 responses »

  1. I feel you on the beloved jeans. Try to think of it this way: how great is it going to be to pull them on again post-pregnancy?!

    • Thanks for the reframing on this one, Eva! Though I’d like to think (harr dee harr harr) that I’ll be hitting the gym regularly post-birth and can retire this particular pair of jeans permanently–replacing them with a smaller size. [Insert wild laughter here.]

Leave a Reply

