Is the thrill gone?

Standard

I hope not.

But after spending an inordinate amount of time in bed this weekend, moaning alternately about a headache and nausea, I finally got up and made myself something to eat: a mashed plantain.

But yuck, too sweet.

So I tried something else: too salty.

I worked my way through the cabinets, through the fridge, and into the fruit basket, trying to counterbalance the intense flavor of one food with another.

The subtle flavor of whatever I ate was amplified x 1,000 and everything that normally brings me pleasure was repulsive.

Maybe this new development would be easier to accept if I weren’t a hopeless foodie, my palate cultivated by a long-doting chef husband whose greatest pleasure is surprising me with new dishes, new flavors, a meal we can add to our journal of memorable eats.

But as it is, I feel pretty sad that the thrill of eating is gone… for now.

3 responses »

  1. I was totally grossed out by potatoes and grilled chicken the other day…and then a few hours later I happily ate a huge bowl of pozole. Go figure.

  2. Mom- I have been eating more than my fair share of crackers and potatoes.

    Tere- Glad to know I’m not the only one! (Though, strangely, suddenly, I ate a whole steak, salad, and broccoli last night– yay!)

Leave a Reply

