Gemelos*

Standard

*(That’s Spanish for twins).

So, the first thing the dad-to-be said to me this morning after “Buenos dias, Mamita,” was “You know there are lots of gemelos in my family, right?”

I rubbed my eyes and wondered if I was still dreaming.

“Uh huh,” I said.

But between you and me, I thought: “Look. Quite frankly, I’m already totally bowled over by the fact that that test blinked ‘pregnant’ yesterday. But two kids? Two? Are you serious?”

And then he began to tick off the number of women in his family who had had twins.

Including his mother, which I never knew. (They died, apparently).

But yes, now that he mentioned it, I recall that his mother has said “jemaguas” (another word for twins) on dozens or thousands of occasions. Whenever she talks with him, she asks about the “jemaguas,” Francisco’s twin cousins who left for the US years ago and who he hasn’t seen in a couple decades. “No se, Mama, no se,” he always tells her, but it doesn’t matter that he has no clue where or how they are.

She’s obsessed about the jemaguas.

One response »

  1. No worries – you don’t carry Francisco’s genes. If you have a daughter, she might be more likely to have twins, but you don’t.

Leave a Reply

